The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920


This collection has been in the best sense a collective enterprise, the joint creation of many individuals and of more than one institution. It has been made possible by the generous support and guidance of Laurance S. and Mary French Rockefeller, and its editors have benefited greatly from a synergistic coincidence of purpose with those responsible for planning the Marsh-Billings National Historical Park in Woodstock, Vermont, established by Congress through the generosity of the Rockefellers in 1993, and dedicated in part to the interpretation of "the evolution of conservation stewardship in America." In this connection we are particularly grateful to a number of individuals associated with the Woodstock Foundation, Inc., and the Billings Farm and Museum in Woodstock, especially Nash Castro and David A. Donath, and with the National Park Service's North Atlantic regional office in Boston, Massachusetts, especially Marie Rust, Sarah Peskin and Charles Tracy. Activities associated with the development of the Marsh-Billings Park also brought our project into fruitful contact with others who provided thoughtful advice, notably Harold K. Steen, Executive Director of the Forest History Society, Durham, North Carolina.

Donald Worster, Hall Professor of American History at the University of Kansas, served as expert advisor to the Library on this project, generously summoning time and energy in the midst of other pressing responsibilities to offer essential intellectual guidance. At the Library of Congress, Jurretta Jordan Heckscher served as the collection's editor in chief and research coordinator, and Emily Lind Baker served as its production manager and as a researcher and editor; her wise judgement, thoughtfulness, skilled dedication and personal kindness made the creation of this collection the best of working partnerships. Judith Gallop and her team at Systems Integration Group, Elaine Woods, and Joanne Lynch provided a level of excellence in technical support that made it possible for this project to move from idea to realization. And while those at the Library who assisted the collection with exceptional competence and courtesy as a matter of course are, unfortunately, too numerous to mention by name, failure to thank the following individuals for particularly vital contributions and kindness would be injustice: at the National Digital Library/American Memory: Carl Fleischhauer, sine qua non; Karen Billett, Jane Bossert, Marc Dudley, Ricky Erway, LeeEllen Friedland, Melissa Levine, Karen C. Lund, Steven McCollum, Dominique Pickett, Glenn Ricci, Tracy Salley, Barak R. Stussman, Tamara Swora-Gober, and Randolf Wells; in the Law Library: Clifton Brown, Rose Marie Clemandot, George Fullen, David Rabasca; in the Rare Book and Special Collections Division: Colleen Cahill, Meredith Shedd-Driskel, Robert Shields; in the Manuscript Division: Alice Birney, Leonard Bruno, Marvin Kranz, Mary Wolfskill; in the Prints and Photographs Division: Beverly Brannan, Mary Ison, Carol Johnson, Harry Katz, Philip Michel, Bernard Reilly, Robert Woodis; in the Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division: Eugene DeAnna; in the Geography and Map Division: Gary Fitzpatrick; in the Humanities and Social Sciences Division: Marilyn Parr; in the Science and Technology Division: Constance Carter; in the Federal Research Division: Pirkko Johnes; in the Cataloging Policy and Support Office: John Reamy; in the Automation Planning and Liaison Office: Ardith Bausenbach; in Information Technology Services: Mary Ambrosio; in the Conservation Office: Thomas Albro, Merrilee Wilson; in the Collections Management Division: Joseph Puccio; in the Loan Division: Jane Glazer, Paulette Green, Vivian Kirk, Veronica Mack, Kenneth Mackie, Lamont Minor; in the Photoduplication Service: Dennis McNew, Eric Orr.

Jurretta Jordan Heckscher
Washington, D.C.
Summer, 1996 / Summer, 2001

Conservation Home Page